Air France-KLM employees, present all over the world, are the Group’s main asset; they bring to life the Group’s brands and are the face to the customers. Thanks to their collective commitment and their professionalism, the Group is able to offer its customers high-end services and a caring journey and promote sustainable relationships while operating efficiently and safely.

 

L’investissement dans d’autres projets sur la connaissance et la conservation de la biodiversité contribue également à comprendre le dilemme associé aux services écosystémiques comme à la production des biocarburants durables. Si certains types de biocarburants destinés au transport routier peuvent avoir un impact négatif sur la biodiversité, le groupe Air France - KLM veut garantir l’utilisation de carburants aéronautiques durables qui ont l’impact le plus faible sur l’approvisionnement en nourriture, la biodiversité et un impact positif sur le développement local.

 

The strategy common to all the Air France – KLM Group’s businesses remains fostering the commitment and motivation of its employees, by offering the working conditions enabling them effectively to fulfil their professional functions, in support of the Group’s levels of performance.

Air France-KLM’s ambition is to be the best place to work, by creating a safe and motivating environment for its employees, and by targeting a strong result in the Employee Promoter Score (EPS). The Group will continue to invest in human capital development and training, to develop the skills of employees and empower them, to enable them to exceed customer expectations.

The relationship that links the Air France-KLM Group to its employees is based on four values: trust, respect, transparency and confidentiality.

SOCIAL DIALOGUE AND REPRESENTATIVE BODIES

Air France-KLM seeks to preserve cohesion by fostering a constructive and transparent social dialogue and by pursuing a policy based on treating individuals with respect and by showing responsibility towards customers. The objective shared by all companies within the Group is the provision of working conditions enabling employees to effectively fulfill their functions.

For Air France – KLM, the coordination of the workplace dialogue takes place in each Group entity and within the Group’s European Works Council, bringing together the representatives of staff whose head offices or entities are based in the European Community. In 2020, there were three meetings of the European Works Council.

This constant and intense employee dialogue has been maintained throughout the crisis, notably via the use of an in house video conferencing system, enabling all the relevant players to exchange ideas, including during the lockdown periods.

During 2020, Benjamin Smith (Chief Executive Officer of Air France – KLM), Pieter Elbers (KLM’s President & Chief Executive Officer) and Anne Rigail (Air France’s Chief Executive Officer) held regular meetings with employees in the various sites, mainly via webconferences due to the situation of public health crisis, to engage in dialogue on current topics.

SIGNATURE OF MAJOR AGREEMENTS IN TIMES OF CRISIS

The relations between the social partners and the General Management enabled all the negotiations on the reconstruction plan to take place in full transparency and in a constructive manner, despite the significant time pressure. In recognition of the loans guaranteed by the French and Dutch States, and recognizing the urgency, the entire social structure mobilized with agility around contributing to Air France – KLM’s long term future.

In total, nearly 80 collective agreements, covering all categories of staff, exist at Air France-KLM.

At Air France, an efficiency agreement was signed with the Cabin Crew unions enabling the number of cabin crew on board the aircraft to be adapted as a function of load factors and the achievement of substantial cost savings during the Covid 19 crisis.

The Dutch government also facilitated a loan package to help mitigate the impact of this crisis. There are conditions attached to this loan package including a mandatory reduction in payroll costs. In October, after intensive negotiations, KLM and the unions reached an agreement on the terms for this mandatory income reduction.

While a workable Social Plan for Cockpit Crew had already been part of an existing collective labor agreement, in 2020 KLM and the unions signed two new Social Plan agreements for Cabin Crew and Ground Staff. These agreements apply between October 2020 and December 2024. These two Social Plans for Cabin Crew and Ground Staff are based on measures aimed at limiting forced lay offs as far as as possible like a voluntary severance scheme and new career opportunities outside of KLM (e.g. a move into the healthcare or education sectors).

In 2017, the pension schemes for Flight Deck Crews and Cabin Crews were de-risked while the pension fund for Ground Staff remains a Defined Benefit scheme. In 2020, KLM and Unions agreed to a defined contribution Scheme (CDC-scheme).

In 2020 also a negotiation result was reached with Ground Staff on a Defined Contribution Scheme. The Pension Fund has been requested to approve and implement this scheme. This is expected in 2021.

For more information, please refer to the Universal Registration Document, section Human Resources : https://www.airfranceklm.com/en/system/files/afk_urd_2020_29042021.pdf

WORKING CONDITIONS DURING THE PUBLIC HEALTH CRISIS

As of the onset of the public health crisis, in March 2020, Air France – KLM implemented the company public health protocol stipulated by the French, Dutch and foreign governments, and sought to adapt this protocol to its various staff categories during the different phases of the pandemic (lockdowns, curfew).

These health measures were communicated via the different digital communication channels in support of line managers and via a proactive Health and Safety in the Workplace network during the different phases of the crisis: protective measures, the availability of health kits, limitation on the number of days spent in the workplace, closure of the workplace canteens, remote working, certification of professional travel, etc. Meetings of the Health, Safety and Working Conditions Commissions (CCSSCT) were convened at every key stage to agree with the employee representatives the measures to be put in place.

To guarantee optimal working conditions for their employees, KLM, Transavia and Air France enabled the massive development of remote working, A survey was carried out over the summer with 12,200 employees from Air France who worked from home during 2020. The results were very positive with 88% saying that they were satisfied with the resources put at their disposal. At KLM, a feedback survey about the working conditions at home was conducted and 64% indicated that their workplace was sufficient.

For frontline staff in contact with customers or aircraft who were not eligible for remote working, the Air France – KLM Group very rapidly communicated the protection measures to be respected and equipped them with health protection kits.

EMPLOYEE COMMITMENT

Within the Air France – KLM Group, the Employee Experience is a key element of its People strategy and a pillar of its Sustainable Development strategy. “Our people deliver our customer experience” and it is through this policy that the company can outperform its competitors. The roadmap is defined in a Flight Plan at the level of every division of the airlines and the Group, including notably an ongoing commitment to staff development, support for initiatives, the promotion of team spirit and reinforcing levels of motivation which is key to weathering the Covid 19 crisis.

To measure the level of employee engagement, Air France and KLM use the Employee Promoter Score (EPS), the in house equivalent of the Net Promoter Score which measures the level of customer satisfaction. In the two companies, a rotating random group of employees is regularly polled to ascertain whether they would recommend Air France and KLM as employers to their friends and family. The results are shared with all staff.

2020 was marked by a very signficant level of commitment from the employees of the Group. Within this unprecedented context, employees mobilized around the transportation of medical equipment and the repatriation of fellow European compatriots stranded abroad.

At Group level, the consolidated EPS increased by 1.6% between 2019 and 2020.

© AIR FRANCE KLM

Les salariés d’Air France-KLM, présents partout dans le monde, sont le principal atout du Groupe ; donnant vie à ses différentes marques dont ils sont le visage auprès de leurs clients. Grâce à leur engagement collectif et à leur professionnalisme, le Groupe est en mesure d’offrir à ses clients des services hauts de gamme et un parcours attentionné, favorisant des relations durables tout en opérant ses activités de manière efficace et sûre.

L’investissement dans d’autres projets sur la connaissance et la conservation de la biodiversité contribue également à comprendre le dilemme associé aux services écosystémiques comme à la production des biocarburants durables. Si certains types de biocarburants destinés au transport routier peuvent avoir un impact négatif sur la biodiversité, le groupe Air France - KLM veut garantir l’utilisation de carburants aéronautiques durables qui ont l’impact le plus faible sur l’approvisionnement en nourriture, la biodiversité et un impact positif sur le développement local.

 

La stratégie commune à toutes les entreprises du groupe Air France – KLM reste plus que jamais de soutenir l’engagement et la motivation de ses salariés, en leur assurant de bonnes conditions de travail dans l’exercice de leur activité professionnelle, afin de soutenir la performance du Groupe.

Air France-KLM vise à devenir l’une des meilleures entreprises où il fait bon travailler, en créant un environnement sûr et motivant pour ses salariés, avec l’ambition d’atteindre des niveaux de premier plan pour l’Employee Promoter Score (EPS).

La relation qui relie le groupe Air France-KLM à ses collaborateurs repose sur quatre valeurs : la confiance, le respect, la transparence et la confidentialité.

DIALOGUE SOCIAL ET INSTANCES REPRÉSENTATIVES

Air France-KLM entend préserver la cohésion en favorisant un dialogue social constructif et transparent, et en poursuivant une politique fondée sur le respect des personnes et la responsabilité vis-à-vis des clients. L’objectif commun à toutes les entreprises du Groupe est d’offrir des conditions de travail permettant aux salariés de remplir efficacement leurs fonctions.

Pour Air France – KLM, l’animation du dialogue social est faite au sein de chaque entité du Groupe et du Comité de Groupe Européen (CGE) qui réunit les représentants du personnel des filiales dont le siège ou les établissements sont implantés dans la Communauté Européenne. En 2020, le CGE s’est réuni à 3 reprises.

Ce dialogue social constant et intense a été maintenu pendant toute la durée de la crise, notamment en ayant recours au système de visio‑conférence interne qui a permis à tous les acteurs concernés d’échanger, y compris pendant les périodes de confinement.

En 2020, Benjamin Smith (Directeur général d’Air France – KLM), Pieter Elbers (Directeur général de KLM) et Anne Rigail (Directrice générale d’Air France) ont rencontré régulièrement les salariés des différents sites pour dialoguer sur des sujets d’actualité, principalement au travers de webconférences dûes au contexte sanitaire.

LA SIGNATURE D’ACCORDS IMPORTANTS EN TEMPS DE CRISE

Les relations entretenues entre les partenaires sociaux et la Direction ont permis de mener l’ensemble des négociations relatives au plan de reconstruction en toute transparence, dans un climat constructif malgré la forte contrainte temporelle. C’est l’ensemble du corps social, reconnaissant des prêts garantis par les États Français et Néerlandais, qui, comprenant l’urgence, s’est mobilisé avec agilité pour contribuer à la pérennité d’Air France – KLM.

Au total, près de 80 accords collectifs couvrant toutes les catégories de personnel existent au sein du Groupe Air France-KLM.

Chez Air France, un accord de performance a été signé avec les Organisations Syndicales Représentatives PNC permettant d’adapter le nombre de salariés personnel navigant commercial à bord des avions en fonction du taux de remplissage des vols et permettre ainsi de réaliser des économies importantes pendant la crise du coronavirus.

En contrepartie de l’enveloppe de prêt dont l’obtention a été facilitée par l’état Néerlandais, une réduction obligatoire des coûts salariaux chez KLM était demandée. En octobre, après d’intenses négociations, KLM et les syndicats sont parvenus à un accord sur les conditions de cette réduction obligatoire des revenus.

En 2020, alors qu’un plan social applicable pour les pilotes faisait déjà partie d’un accord collectif de travail existant, KLM et les syndicats ont signé deux nouveaux accords sociaux pour le personnel navigant commercial et pour le personnel au sol. Ces accords s’appliquent entre octobre 2020 et décembre 2024. Ces deux plans sociaux reposent sur des mesures visant à limiter les licenciements autant que possible, telles que des indemnités incitatives au départ volontaire et de nouvelles opportunités de carrière en dehors de KLM (par exemple dans les secteurs de la santé ou de l’éducation).

En 2017, les risques financiers pouvant affecter les régimes de retraite des pilotes et des PNC ont été atténués tandis que le fonds de pension pour le personnel au sol est resté un régime à prestations définies. En 2020, KLM et les syndicats sont parvenus à un accord sur un régime à cotisations définies (régime CDC), suivi de la négociation réussie d’un accord avec le personnel au sol, toujours sur une base de cotisations définies. Il a été demandé à la caisse de retraite d’approuver et de mettre en œuvre ce régime. Cela est prévu en 2021.

Pour plus d’information, merci de vous référer au Document d’Enregistrement Universel, section ressources humaines https://www.airfranceklm.com/fr/system/files/afk_deu_2020_29042021.pdf

CONDITIONS DE TRAVAIL PENDANT LA CRISE

Dès le début de la crise, au mois de mars 2020, Air-France-KLM a mis en application le protocole sanitaire pour les entreprises, défini par les gouvernements Français, Néerlandais et étrangers et a recherché à adapter ce protocole pour ses différentes catégories de personnel au cours des différentes phases de l’épidémie (confinement, couvre‑feu, etc.).

Ces mesures sanitaires ont été communiquées via les différents canaux digitaux, en appui des managers et d’un réseau Santé, Sécurité au Travail (SST) engagé aux différents moments de la crise : gestes barrières, mise à disposition des kits sanitaires, limitation des jours de travail sur site, fermeture des restaurants d’entreprise, télétravail, justificatif de déplacement professionnel, etc. Des Commissions Santé Sécurité et Conditions de Travail (CSSCT) ont été réunies à chaque moment clé pour partager avec les représentants du personnels les mesures à mettre en place.

Pour garantir des conditions de travail optimales à ses salariés, KLM, Transavia et Air France ont permis le développement massif du télétravail. Un retour d’expérience a été mené à l’été auprès de 12 200 salariés Air France concernés par la pratique du télétravail en 2020 : les résultats sont très positifs, 88 % des salariés étant satisfaits des moyens mis à disposition. Chez KLM, une étude similaire sur les conditions de travail à la maison a été réalisée et 64% ont indiqué être satisfait de leur condition.

Concernant le personnel travaillant au contact des clients ou des avions, non éligible au télétravail, le Groupe Air France – KLM a très rapidement communiqué sur les mesures barrières à respecter et leur a fourni des kits de protection sanitaire.

ENGAGEMENT SALARIE

Au sein du Groupe Air France – KLM, l’expérience salarié est un élément clé de la politique des ressources humaines et un pilier de sa stratégie développement durable. « Ce sont nos salariés qui offrent l’expérience client » et c’est grâce à cela que l’entreprise peut surpasser ses concurrents. La feuille de route est définie dans un Plan de vol (« Flight Plan ») au niveau de chaque direction des compagnies aériennes et du Groupe incluant notamment un engagement permanent pour le développement du personnel, le soutien aux initiatives, la promotion de l’esprit d’équipe et le renforcement du niveau de motivation, indispensable pour surmonter la crise de la Covid-19.

Pour mesurer l’engagement des salariés, Air France et KLM ont recours à l’EPS, l’équivalent interne du Net Promoter Score qui mesure la satisfaction client. Dans les deux entreprises, un panel tournant de salariés est interviewé régulièrement pour savoir s’ils recommanderaient Air France ou KLM en tant qu’employeur auprès de leur famille et de leurs amis. Les résultats sont partagés avec tous les salariés.

Au global, l’année 2020 est marquée par un engagement très soutenu des salariés du Groupe. Dans ce contexte inédit, les salariés se sont fortement mobilisés pour aider au transport de matériel médical ou au rapatriement de ressortissants Européens bloqués à l’étranger.

L’EPS consolidé au niveau du Groupe s’est accru de 1,6 % entre 2019 et 2020.

© AIR FRANCE KLM