The use of Sustainable Aviation Fuel (SAF) is one of the most impactful measures for reducing the CO2 emissions from aviation. They enable an 80% to 100% reduction over the entire life cycle for the most innovative technologies. Such fuels will be key to supporting the Air France – KLM Group’s energy transition but also that of the aviation industry as a whole.

Our goal is to contribute to the establishment of a sustainable fuel industry for aviation. Both Air France and KLM have established innovative partnerships with corporate customers, suppliers, airports and logistics partners.

L’investissement dans d’autres projets sur la connaissance et la conservation de la biodiversité contribue également à comprendre le dilemme associé aux services écosystémiques comme à la production des biocarburants durables. Si certains types de biocarburants destinés au transport routier peuvent avoir un impact négatif sur la biodiversité, le groupe Air France - KLM veut garantir l’utilisation de carburants aéronautiques durables qui ont l’impact le plus faible sur l’approvisionnement en nourriture, la biodiversité et un impact positif sur le développement local.

SECURING STRICT SUSTAINABILITY CRITERIA

The Air France – KLM Group is very exacting as regards the sustainability criteria of the Sustainable Aviation Fuel it uses requiring, for example, a substantial reduction in CO2 emissions, a minimal impact on biodiversity, no competition with food production or access to food resources, and a positive impact on local development.

Air France and KLM have been members of a sustainable certification body, the Roundtable on Sustainable Biomaterials (RSB), since 2008, in their capacity as founder members of the Sustainable Aviation Fuel Users Group (SAFUG). This body takes into account 12 criteria ranging from food security to rural development, the quality of air, soil and water resources, and waste management.

STIMULATING THE INDUSTRY

Air France and KLM are members of working groups and support research projects aimed at the creation of a Sustainable Aviation Fuel market. For example:

  • Air France has joined forces with the ATAG (Air Transport Aviation Group) to promote, with the French Civil Aviation Research Council, greater knowledge of biofuels for aviation and thus raise public authority awareness of the need to support a French biofuels industry. Air France is also actively participating in the establishment of the French national road map on aviation biofuels managed by the National Alliance for Coordination of Research on Energy (ANCRE);
  • In 2020, KLM continued to purchase 15,642 liters of SAF for its Växjö (Sweden) flights, i.e. 5% of the total fuel use on all flights to/from this destination. Together with Södra and the City of Växjö, KLM and SkyNRG are investigating the feasibility of producing SAF locally;
  • In 2017, Air France signed an Engagement for Green Growth (Engagement pour la Croissance Verte – ECV) with the French Ministry for the Ecological and Inclusive Transition, the French Ministry of Transport and the French Ministry of the Economy and Finance, along with four other major French industrial companies (Airbus, Safran, Suez and Total). This Engagement for Green Growth aims to promote the emergence of sustainable aviation biofuel industries, in economically viable conditions that fully integrate circular economy principles. Its conclusions were published in January 2020, together with a French governmental roadmap to set, on the basis of the ECV recommendations, the principles and ambition for Sustainable Aviation Fuel incorporation and the launch of a call for expressions of interest to build production facilities in France.
  • Since July 2020, within the framework of calls for Expression of Interest, Air France has supported several new Sustainable Aviation Fuel production programs in France and elsewhere in Europe. By actively seeking industrial and logistics partners to combine forces in consortia, the Group is supporting all the innovative technologies, with alternative fuels originating from the circular economy (e.g. used cooking oils, wood residues, household waste, etc.) and, in future, synthetic fuels whose design is based on green electricity and carbon capture.

Supporting regulatory incentives are required for the widescale deployment and the creation of economically-viable production facilities for producers and operators. Therefore, Air France and KLM are actively involved in several initiatives to stimulate these regulations:  European Advanced Biofuels Flightpath, ART Fuels Forum, Ini-FCA French Future Alternative Fuels initiative and BioPort Holland are several examples.

Air France and KLM are part of the Clean Skies for Tomorrow (CST) coalition, which was established within the Global Economic Forum to ensure adequate supplies of SAF so as to be able to fly CO2-neutral by the middle of this century. In cooperation with McKinsey & Company, the coalition compiled the Sustainable Aviation Fuels as a Pathway to Net-Zero Aviation Report, which focuses on themes such as feedstock availability and sustainability, production capacity and the technical possibilities of the most promising SAF production pathways. The coalition has also launched a joint policy proposal to accelerate the deployment of Sustainable Aviation Fuels (SAF) in Europe. This involves aligning on a proposed policy package to be submitted to the European Commission to inform a clearly‑defined European strategy to increase the adoption of SAF.

INNOVATING IN THE SUPPLY CHAIN

KLM is one of the founders of SkyNRG, the current worldwide market leader for Sustainable Aviation Fuel. Since 2016, all KLM flights from Los Angeles airport have been operated with SAF produced by the local World Energy (former AltAir Fuels) refinery and supplied by SkyNRG. Additionally, KLM has purchased SAF for flights out of Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. This sustainable fuel produced by Neste from used cooking oil will bridge the gap until the coming on stream of the SAF production plant.

In 2019, KLM made a decade-long commitment to developing and purchasing an annual 75,000 tons of Sustainable Aviation Fuel. KLM is the first airline in the world to invest in SAF on this scale. SkyNRG will develop Europe’s first dedicated plant for the production of SAF. The construction of this facility, which is scheduled to open in 2023, is a concrete step towards fulfilling KLM’s sustainability ambitions.

In January 2020, KLM carried out the first commercial passenger flight from Amsterdam to Madrid, with an admixture of 500 liters of sustainable synthetic kerosene. Shell produced the synthetic kerosene in its research center in Amsterdam based on CO2, water and renewable energy from sun and wind from Dutch soil. This first flight on synthetic kerosene shows that it is possible in practice and that we can move forward.

INVOLVING CUSTOMERS AND PARTNERS

As part of its WWF-Netherlands partnership and Green Deal commitment, in 2012 KLM launched the KLM Corporate BioFuel program, a first for aviation. In 2020, the Air France-KLM Corporate SAF programme was also extended to Air France and regrouped the following partners: ABN Amro, Accenture, Arcadis B.V., Arcadis N.V., Loyens & Loeff, Air Traffic Control The Netherlands (LVNL), Microsoft, the Ministry of Infrastructure and the Environment, Neste, the Royal Netherlands Aerospace Centre (NLR), PGGM, Schiphol Group, SHV Energy, Södra, the University of Delft, Lavazza, Finco Fuel, Hans Grohe SE and IMS Gear.

In december 2020 Air France KLM Martinair (AFKLMP) cargo launched the world’s first SAF Programme for the airfreight industry. This Cargo SAF programme enables freight forwarders and shippers to reduce their CO2 emissions. In this programme shippers and forwarders can decide to power a percentage of their fleigts with SAF.

© AIR FRANCE KLM

L’utilisation de carburants d’aviation durables est l’une des mesures les plus importantes pour réduire les émissions de CO2 du secteur. En effet, ils permettent de les réduire de 80 % à 100 % sur l’ensemble du cycle de vie pour les technologies les plus innovantes. Ils seront essentiels d’une part pour accompagner la transition énergétique du groupe Air France – KLM mais aussi celle de la filière aéronautique dans son ensemble.

Notre ambition est de contribuer à la mise en place d’une filière de carburant d’aviation durable. Air France et KLM ont établi des collaborations innovantes avec des clients corporate, des fournisseurs, des aéroports et des partenaires logistiques.

L’investissement dans d’autres projets sur la connaissance et la conservation de la biodiversité contribue également à comprendre le dilemme associé aux services écosystémiques comme à la production des biocarburants durables. Si certains types de biocarburants destinés au transport routier peuvent avoir un impact négatif sur la biodiversité, le groupe Air France - KLM veut garantir l’utilisation de carburants aéronautiques durables qui ont l’impact le plus faible sur l’approvisionnement en nourriture, la biodiversité et un impact positif sur le développement local.

GARANTIR DES CRITÈRES EXIGEANTS EN MATIÈRE DE DÉVELOPPEMENT DURABLE

Le groupe Air France – KLM est très exigeant quant aux critères de durabilité du carburant alternatif durable qu’il utilise, telles que la réduction substantielle des émissions de CO2, un impact minime sur la biodiversité, l’absence de concurrence avec les productions alimentaires ou l’accès aux ressources alimentaires et un impact positif sur le développement local.

Air France et KLM sont membres de l’organisation de certification durable Roundtable on Sustainable Biomaterials (RSB) depuis 2008, en tant que membres fondateurs du SAFUG (Sustainable Aviation Fuel Users Group). Cet organisme intègre 12 critères allant de la sécurité alimentaire, au développement rural, à la qualité de l’air, du sol et des eaux, et à la gestion des déchets.

STIMULER L’INDUSTRIE

Air France et KLM sont membres de groupes de travail et soutiennent des projets de recherche visant la création d’un marché pour les carburants durables destinés à l’aviation. À titre d’illustration :

  • Air France s’est associée à l’ATAG (Air Transport Aviation Group) pour promouvoir, avec le Conseil pour la Recherche Aéronautique Civile, une meilleure connaissance des carburants aéronautiques durables et sensibiliser ainsi les pouvoirs publics sur la nécessité de soutenir une filière française. La compagnie participe activement à l’écriture de la feuille de route nationale sur les biocarburants aéronautiques, pilotée par l’Alliance nationale de coordination de la recherche pour l’énergie (Ancre) ;
  • En 2020, KLM a continué d’acheter 15 642 litres de carburant durable pour ses vols Växjö (Suède), soit 5 % de la consommation totale de carburant sur tous les vols à destination et en provenance de cette destination. En collaboration avec Södra et la ville de Växjö, KLM et SkyNRG étudient la faisabilité de la production locale de carburant durable ;
  • Air France a signé en 2017 un Engagement pour la Croissance Verte (ECV) avec les ministères de la Transition écologique et solidaire, des Transports et de l’Économie et des Finances, ainsi que quatre autres grands groupes industriels français (Airbus, Safran, Suez et Total). Cet ECV vise à promouvoir l’émergence de filières de carburant aéronautique durable en France, à des conditions économiquement viables et s’inscrit résolument dans les principes de l’économie circulaire. Ses conclusions ont été publiées en janvier 2020, ainsi qu’une feuille de route gouvernementale française pour fixer, sur la base des recommandations de l’ECV, les principes et l’ambition de l’intégration du carburant aéronautique durable.

Air France dans le cadre des Appels à Manifestation d’Intérêts, soutient depuis juillet 2020, plusieurs nouveaux programmes de production de Carburant Alternatif Durable en France et en Europe. En recherchant des partenaires industriels et logistiques pour s’associer en consortium, le Groupe soutient l’ensemble des technologies innovantes, avec des carburants alternatifs qui seront issus de l’économie circulaire (huiles usagés de cuissons) de résidus de bois, de déchets ménagers ou encore dans le futur des carburants de synthèse conçus à partir d’électricité verte et de carbone.

Des incitations réglementaires de soutien sont nécessaires pour le déploiement à grande échelle et la création d’installations de production économiquement viables pour les producteurs et les opérateurs. Ainsi, Air France et KLM participent activement à plusieurs initiatives visant à stimuler ces réglementations: European Advanced Biofuels Flightpath, ART Fuels Forum, Ini-FCA French Future Alternative Fuels initiative et BioPort Holland en sont plusieurs exemples.

Air France – KLM fait partie de la coalition Clean Skies for Tomorrow (CST), qui a été créée au sein du Forum Économique Mondial pour garantir la disponibilité de quantités suffisantes de SAF afin d’être en mesure de voler sans émissions de CO2 d’ici le milieu du siècle. En coopération avec McKinsey & Company, la coalition a publié le rapport « Sustainable Aviation Fuels as a Pathway to Net-Zero Aviation », qui se concentre sur des thèmes tels que la disponibilité des matières premières et leur durabilité, la capacité de production et les possibilités technologiques des plus des voies de production SAF prometteuses. La coalition a également lancé une proposition de politique commune pour accélérer le déploiement des carburants d’aviation durables (SAF) en Europe. Il s’agit d’un ensemble co‑développé de recommandations politiques à transmettre à la Commission Européenne sur la manière dont l’Europe pourrait définir l’orientation pour accroître l’adoption du SAF.

INNOVER DANS LA SUPPLY-CHAIN

KLM est l’un des fondateurs de SkyNRG, leader mondial du marché du carburant aéronautique durable. Depuis 2016, tous les vols KLM au départ de l’aéroport de Los Angeles sont opérés avec du carburant durable, produit par la raffinerie locale de World Energy (anciennement AltAir Fuels) et fourni par SkyNRG. De plus, KLM a acheté du carburant durable pour des vols au départ de l’aéroport d’Amsterdam Schiphol. Ce carburant, produit par Neste à partir d’huile de cuisson usagée, comblera l’écart jusqu’à la mise en service de l’usine de production de carburant durable.

En 2019, KLM s’est engagée, pour la décennie à venir, à développer et à acheter annuellement 75 000 tonnes de carburant aéronautique durable. KLM est la première compagnie aérienne au monde à investir dans les carburants durables à cette échelle. SkyNRG développera la première usine de production européenne. La construction de cette installation, dont l’ouverture est prévue en 2023, est une étape concrète vers la réalisation des ambitions de développement durable de KLM.

IMPLIQUER CLIENTS ET PARTENAIRES

Dans le cadre de son partenariat avec le WWF-Pays-Bas et de son engagement dans le Green Deal, KLM a lancé le Programme KLM Corporate BioFuel en 2012, une première dans l’aviation. En 2020, le “Corporate SAF programme” a été élargi à Air France et regroupe les partenaires suivants : ABN Amro, Accenture, Arcadis BV, Arcadis NV,, Loyens & Loeff, le Trafic Aérien néerlandais (LVNL), Microsoft, le ministère des Infrastructures et de l’Environnement, Neste, le Centre Aérospacial Royal néerlandais (NLR), PGGM, le Groupe Schiphol, SHV Energy, Södra, l’Université de Delft,Lavazza. Finco Fuel, Hans Grohe SE and IMS Gear.

En complément du programme pour les clients corporate, Air France – KLM Martinair Cargo (AFKLMP) a lancé en décembre 2020 le premier programme mondial de carburant d’aviation durable, permettant aux transitaires ainsi qu’aux expéditeurs de réduire également l’empreinte carbone de leurs expéditions.

© AIR FRANCE KLM